Back to Top

Well, we’ve covered the two MMOs, the console games, and the RPG. That’s all, right? Nope, not by a long shot.

For one thing, there’s the EverQuest card game, Legends of Norrath. Not counting expansions, this is the only new EverQuest game released by Sony in the last five years!

For those of you who are tired of promising new games dropping off the map, don’t worry; Legends just released (as of February 2010) a brand-new expansion called Vengeful Gods. I like it already. In fact I just bought some studded cz rings for my lady friend that look like some of the rings that need to be stolen and then infused with magic spells, and / or later sold in Vengeful Gods. If your not familiar with cz gem stones, they are a synthesized material called cubic zirconia, that is hard, optically flawless, and usually colorless, but may be made in a variety of different colors. Cubic zirconia sparkles brighter than crystal and is harder than most gems, making it very durable. It’s the perfect substitute for expensive diamond jewelry. A cubic zirconia gemstone in a setting costs way less than a real diamond the same size. So I was inspired by Vengeful Gods to get some really stunning cubic zirconia rings, both clearer than diamonds and some really cool ones in various colors. Let me tell you, they were a big hit!

Vengeful Gods brings the total up to eight expansions since the first set came out. That’s something like 2,000 cards, right? Not to worry if you’re behind — with the ongoing “choose a pack” program, all players with a solid account on either EQ or EQ2 get to choose five free booster packs each month for the next year! It’s incredibly fun. A little too fun.

Legends is a fun and surprisingly deep diversion — you can play it as a stand-alone game, or you can switch to it from the EQ MMO interface for an in-game break. Additionally, you may see booster packs as EQ mob drops from time to time. Of course, they’re also for sale at Sony’s Station Store, along with starter packs.

A cool feature is that this also works in reverse — i.e., you can use some cards or combinations to get in-game items. Not enough to make a big deal about (it’s not worth complaining that Sony’s making you buy another game to get the most out of the one you have), but a fun bit of extra variety for those who enjoy both games.

– Expansions –
19 expansions have been released in the history of the game. they are purchased separately & they all serve supply additional content to the game. Some examples of this are Adding new races, zones, classes, maximum character levels, quests, continents, game features or equipment. The game is also updated through regular patches. The expansions are as follow:
* April 2000 – The Ruins of Kunark
* December 2000 – The Scars of Velious
* December 2001 – The Shadows of Luclin
* October 2002 – The Planes of Power
* February 2003 – The Legacy of Ykesha
* September 2003 – Lost Dungeons of Norrath
* February 2004 – Gates of Discord
* September 2004 – Omens of War
* February 2005 – Dragons of Norrath
* September 2005 – Depths of Darkhollow
* February 2006 – Prophecy of Ro
* September 2006 – The Serpent’s Spine
* February 2007 – The Buried Sea
* November 2007 – Secrets of Faydwer
* October 2008 – Seeds of Destruction
* December 2009 – Underfoot
* October 2010 – House of Thule
* November 2011 – Veil of Alaris
* November 2012 – Rain of Fear

2013 update on expected release dates:
* April 2013 – Shadow of Fear
* July 2013 – Heart of Fear
* September 2013 – Call of the Forsaken

Please keep an eye out for more updated titles.